Exploring India’s Golden Triangle

India's Golden Triangle

India’s Golden Triangle

India’s Golden Triangle Δ is a tourist circuit which connects the national capital Delhi, Agra and Jaipur. The Golden Triangle is so called because of the triangular shape formed by the locations of New Delhi, Agra and Rajasthan on a map, and is one of the most traveled route in the country.

It’also is a popular tourist destination because it covers 3 different cities and their unique cultures.

The circuit is about 720 km by road. Each leg is about 4 to 6 hours of drive.

First Leg: DELHI

Delhi or City of Djinns is the capital of India. It is the most historical place in the entire India. The settlers first inhabited the region in 2nd Century BC. According to the legend, it’s believed to be the capital Indraprastha of the Pandavas from the epic Mahabharata.

It has been captured, ransacked, destroyed and rebuilt numerous times during the Delhi Sultanate, Sayyid and Lodhi Dynasty, Mughal Empire and British India. A historical and socioeconomic stronghold of India, Delhi is equally a favorite of the most travelers for its fusion of old and newer lifestyles, culture, hullabaloo and history.

Some of the tourist attraction sites in Delhi are;

  • Red Fort (Lal Quila)
  • Jama Masjid
  • Tomb of Humayun
  • Qutub Minar
  • Presidential Palace
  • Chandani Chowk

Second Leg: AGRA

Agra is the home of the iconic Taj Mahal, a white marble mausoleum built by the 5th Mughal Emperor, Shah Jahan, for his favorite consort Mumtaj Mahal. Located on the banks of yamuna river in Uttar Pradesh, Agra is another historical place with past riches from Mughal empire.

It was the capital during the times of Sikandar Lodhi and Mughals. You can find the sacred tomb of Akbar the Great located at Sikandra, Agra.

Some of the most popular tourist sites in Agra are;

  • Taj Mahal
  • Akbar’s Tomb, Sikandra
  • Fatehpur Sikri
  • Agra Fort
  • Makameshwar Temple
  • I’timād-Ud-Daulah

Third Leg: JAIPUR

Jaipur, also known as the Pink City, is the capital and the largest city of the Indian state of Rajasthan. It was founded in 1727 by Maharaja Jai Singh II, the ruler of Amer after whom the city is named. It’s one of the most popular tourist destinations in India and serves as the gateway for other Rajasthani states, such as; Jaisalmer, Jodhpur, Udaypur and Bikaner.

It was planned to relocate the capital of Amer from Dausa to current location to accommodate water scarcity and growing population.

It is known for its authentic Rajasthani roots. It’s exquisite cuisines, rich culture, couture and customs set it apart from its neighboring Indian states.

Some of the major attractions of Jaipur are,

  • Hawa Mahal
  • Nahargarh Fort
  • Amer Fort
  • Jal Mahal
  • Jantar Mantar
  • Laxmi Narayan Temple

Nepal Vision Treks & Expedition, a South Asian outdoor agency, specializes in a complete Golden Triangle Tour.

read more

Get Advice from Tour Experts


One thought on “Exploring India’s Golden Triangle

  1. Pingback: Exploring India's Golden Triangle | Surfing Ove...

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s